On Being a Free Spirit

It’s not always easy being pressured into the path well-worn. I know for sure that there’s something about following in the footsteps of my generation that drives me off the wall. Everyone’s doing the same typical thing. High school, then off to post secondary school, then off to a job and live out the rest of your life, praying you’ll save up enough for retirement. I’ve been asking myself though, is that really what living is to me? If I were to die tomorrow, would I die knowing I did everything I could to live a life I’m proud to have lived? I’m not sure how I could answer that if all I’ve done is what I’m expected to.

I’ve been wondering lately if going to post secondary is even in the stars for me. Yeah, of course it’s something I’m expected to do, but that alone somehow makes me want to run away from it all. Why stay on the same path as everyone else? Does it really work? Maybe for some people, yeah, but for me? I’m not so sure. My whole life I’ve dreamed of going places. That’s it. Just going somewhere, anywhere, and soaking in all the experiences I possibly can. That’s what I really want to live for. Not just to exist. Not just waiting for enough money to do something, but to really truly live.

I’ve read travel stories and blogs and how-tos and it just dazzles me that people can leave their strong sturdy life behind to open up a world of adventure. And I’ve been thinking lately.. Wouldn’t that be great? To be able to just pack a backpack, buy a ticket and just go somewhere? Finding a job and board along the way would just be part of the fun. The exhilaration of it all. The sheer challenge. Because really, to me it’s about the moment. Really appreciating life and taking the chances to experience as much as possible. That’s all I’ll have in the end. Whoever dies with the most money still dies. But dying happy, with no regrets and a heart full of wonder and compassion, that’s the way I would want it to be. I don’t want to waste time with the in-betweens, no matter how necessary they might be.

I have a hard time staying tied down to anything. Places, jobs, people even sometimes. I love the excitement of change. Of course, that gets me into trouble, but its part of who I am. And I’m not afraid to be proud of that. I’m not afraid to risk things for a new experience. Or to take a chance or have regrets. It’s just me being me. And if the world will love me as myself, then I will love the world in return.

Leave a Reply

