#DearMe Campaign

dearmepage

So today I found out that Youtube is doing this campaign called #DearMe in honor of International Women’s Day coming up on March 8. Women all over YouTube are sending their past selves videos to address past issues and insecurities.

The International Women’s Day site has declared 2015’s theme as Make It Happen; creating hype around recognizing and advancing women. Hopefully I’ll be able to make a post celebrating some women who I believe truly #MakeItHappen in the world.

I thought this was a beautiful and energetic campaign and I thought I’d make a short list of things I’d love to have had the chance to tell my past self. Here’s to the insecure, brave, imaginative, younger me!

  1. You’re worth it. All of it. Don’t give yourself or settle for less at any point.
  2. It gets better. Even though you’re probably sick of hearing it and not believing anyone. Believe me, your future self. Honest.
  3. You will find your people. The internet is especially useful for this. And these people are really really amazing! Just as amazing as you’d hoped to find for so long.
  4. Don’t be afraid. It’s great to be different. Don’t try to conform and don’t worry about comparing yourself. There is always someone prettier, smarter, nicer, more popular, always something. But no one is as unique as you. Keep it that way!

I ended up doing my own video for the campaign so here ya go!

Leave a Reply

